Frusteration

I have been wanting a cool new phone for quite some time now. I first fell in love with the iPhone (I don’t care that it is not open source). Then like most geeks I know the G1 was my new item to desire. I am half way through a contract right now with AT&T and they will not let me get the iPhone at the discounted price. Being in the contract means that I can’t switch over to TMobile to get the G1 either. Bummer huh.

Last night my wife and one of our friends went to a party. While there I met a girl that has a 3G iPhone that she has only had for about a month. She said that she would rather go back to her old phone and that she would sell it to me for $100. That is a heck of a deal right? The sad thing is that I don’t have $100. 3 kids are depending on us to have a good Christmas this year. On the other side of that coin my wife said that she wasn’t sure that even if we did have the money to get the phone that we may not have the extra money each month to pay for the iPhone data plan.

It sucks so bad being a poor geek :/

  1. #1 by Nathaniel McCallum on December 14, 2008 - 12:19 am

    I’ll buy it for $100. I was hoping to find one cheap to hack linux on it.

  2. #2 by Jim Campbell on December 14, 2008 - 1:41 am

    It sucks that you can’t afford the phone/data-plan combo, but good for you for providing for your kiddos and spouse this family. 🙂 I hope you all have a wonderful holiday, even if you don’t have an iPhone. 🙂

  3. #3 by okubax on December 14, 2008 - 12:16 pm

    good choice mate, I tell u. family’s more important than the iphone or G1. And yeah it sucks to be a poor geek, though with three kids, you must be a cool family man(geek).

  4. #4 by mwilsonemt on December 14, 2008 - 10:05 pm

    I completely feel your pain. I have had to pass up many a great deal for the same reasons.

  5. #5 by nnonix on December 15, 2008 - 9:14 am

    Please don’t drink the Google flavored cool-aid.

  6. #6 by etank on December 15, 2008 - 9:18 am

    @nnonix, I would love to have an android powered phone. Everything I do (email, rss, docs, etc) is done using Google products.

Leave a Reply

