Google browser sync replacement

Dear fellow web users,

I need some assistance. With Firefox 2.x I used GBS and loved it. I could add links to my toolbar or in a folder and it showed up on any other computer I used. It was awesome. Since switching to Firefox 3 I have not been able to find a good replacement for GBS. A friend recommended Weave but it is just not working for me. Here are some of my issues with it:

  1. When I add a toolbar link it does not get replicated.
  2. It is a freakin’ hog. On my Windows box at work it eats 99% of my CPU until it is done. Until that time the browser is unusable. The results on my Linux boxes is not too different from that.
  3. If you forget your password you are out of luck. There is now way at this time to change it. You have to register a new account.

So my question is this. What do you use that acts as a good / usable replacement for GBS?

ps. Before the comments come in about Weave being a prototype … I already know that. I just want something that works well now.

  1. #1 by Muldy on June 28, 2008 - 5:11 pm

    Try mozilla weave, google it 🙂

  2. #2 by etank on June 28, 2008 - 5:13 pm

    ummm … The majority of the post is about how I am using weave right now but that I am looking for something better.

  3. #3 by Jonathan on June 28, 2008 - 5:14 pm

    foxmarks

  4. #4 by Urbano on June 28, 2008 - 5:31 pm

    Hi!

    I deeply recommend Foxmarks!
    http://www.foxmarks.com/

    It’s a great sync software for bookmarks.

    Hope that this can help!

  5. #5 by etank on June 28, 2008 - 5:33 pm

    Will foxmarks also sync your passwords and history as well?

  6. #6 by Muldy on June 28, 2008 - 5:40 pm

    Sorry,

    i also had problems with weave, but i started using my own server for sincronization, and now everything works fine (usal web dav server).

    Plus i syncronize all to my personal server :), very good for keeping my privacy

  7. #7 by Patrick on June 28, 2008 - 6:18 pm

    The Delicious Add On/Toolbar will do everything you mentioned here. Use it instead of FF’s built-in bookmarking service. I use the toolbar in Favorite Tags mode which allows me to display only the tags I choose. Then, whenever I want a link to appear on my FF Delicious Toolbar I just tag it with one of my toolbar tags. It’s similar in concept to a Firefox Live Bookmark but using the Delicious Add On makes syncing across browsers a thing of the past.

    For example here are some of my delcious toolbar tags: star (for my most visited sites), google (for direct access to all my google services), torrents (for torrent sites obviously), reference, tools, employment, comments.

    Also, if you use Google Reader you can pull in a live feed of your entire feed catalog by tagging them as ‘firefox:rss’. That’s pretty sweet. Here’s a more thorough howto with pictures: http://patrickometry.blogspot.com/2008/04/del.html

  8. #8 by BadServo on June 28, 2008 - 6:26 pm

    I ran into a similar issue. After trying several differnt options, I came tot he conclusion that Foxmarks is still the best, most reliable alternative. Sadly, it only sync bookmarks. No password or history data. However, in addition to bookmarks being synced across machines, it also allows web-based access to bookmarks from public machines.

  9. #9 by Tyrone on June 28, 2008 - 7:08 pm

    Weave is supposed to come in a new version any day now, AND they are currently upgrading the servers. So it may be the right answer in a few days. It is supposed to be a big step, at least.

  10. #10 by mahir on June 28, 2008 - 7:43 pm

    well bare in mind.. gbs has now been made open source..
    maybe the ubuntu devs (cos they are friendlier then the suse devs) could be convinced into somehow merging gbs with ubuntu or packaged as a rpm/deb … id love that actually… someone should post to ubunt q/a

  11. #11 by Big Dan on June 29, 2008 - 4:10 am

    I’ll second FoxMarks, I use it across Linux and windows on several computers everything is always sync’d up. 🙂

  12. #12 by will on June 29, 2008 - 7:11 am

    So, how do you sync to a webdav server? And is that more than just your bookmarks? passwords, too?

  13. #13 by Mikey on June 29, 2008 - 1:07 pm

    Foxmarks for bookmarks.

    I haven’t found anything that is browser independent to sync passwords and have started using Password Exporter. This will not sync them as browser sync did and it will require a little more work to keep one set up to date and then export and import the new file.

Leave a Reply

