Happy day. Sad day. (part 2 of 2)

Today marks the 2 year anniversary of my dad’s death. There has not been a day in the last 2 years that I have not thought about him at some point. He was not only my dad but one of my very best friends. I talked with him about everything. It is especially hard going to work because I now work where he did for about 20 years. I never had a chance to work with him here but I often imagine what it would have been like to meet up with him for lunch or just pass in the hallways.

My kids are getting older every day and my goal is to make sure they know who their gramps was and just how much he loved them. My youngest was only 3 when my dad died so helping him remember is pretty tough.

I am thankful that I have sisters that I can talk with to help me remember even the silliest and smallest things about dad. My biggest regret is that I have no home videos of him. I would love to have a tape or a video that has his voice on it just to play from time to time.

Things that I got from dad:

  1. Love of Christ
  2. Passion for computers
  3. Sense of humor (not sure this one is so good 😉 )

Thing I hope not to get:

  1. Bald head (sense of humor kicking in there)
  2. The cancer that killed him

Dad you are now and will always be loved and missed.

  1. #1 by Og Maciel on June 27, 2008 - 11:52 am

    Very moving post… hang in there man!

    Og

Leave a Reply

