Terminator

I know that many of you may have read about this cool app (if you thought I meant the movies then I’m sorry to disappoint you). I have been very happy with gnome-terminal for a while just as it is but I must admit that terminator is pretty cool. The bad thing is that you have to have gnome-terminal to use it so no using it on a server install. The good thing is that you can do splits in screen. I think I saw that screen will be able to do the vertical splits in the future but right now it is horizontal only (if I am wrong someone please tell me). I can see myself using this when I write conary recipes.

If you are running Foresight Linux and want to install terminator run the following in a terminal:

sudo conary update terminator=zodyrepo.rpath.org@rpl:devel

Maybe once the package contest is over then it will be included in the foresight repo.

Oh and here is a screen shot of the app running.

The one thing about this app that I can not find is what a sample profile looks like. I want to play with the -p, –profile=PROFILE flag. If you have any ideas at all how to use this please let me know.

  1. #1 by zodman on May 26, 2008 - 12:01 pm

    yeah im mook it

Leave a Reply

