New goals

I have recently set some new goals for myself.

1) Mutt:
In my current mindset of trying to learn and use more command line apps I am going to try to set up and use mutt as my mail client. I don’t know how long I will actually use it but I want to learn. In the past I have always used gui based mail readers (Outlook, Thunderbird, Evolution, Lotus Notes) so this will be quite a change for me. My goal is to get gmail + mutt + gpg all working and have fetchmail (or whatever) check for new mail every 120 seconds or so.

2) Dvorak:
I want to be able to use the dvorak keyboard layout fluently. This one I have been working on for a few weeks now. I know where most of the keys (alphanumeric that is) are at this point. The hard part is that my fingers still want to go to where they are used to going.

3) Devotional:
This is the only one that I have actually set a time frame on. I have not been reading and studying my Bible like I should be. So today I bought a 365 day mens devotional to help. I plan to stick with it in the hopes that it will soon become part of my daily life.

  1. #1 by Jake on September 3, 2007 - 4:20 pm

    I have always tried these three things for myself. I’ve given up on the first two though. I like K-Mail too much, and I figure I will always have a QWERTY keyboard, but not alwaysa Dvorak.

  2. #2 by peder on September 3, 2007 - 5:24 pm

    a few years with dvorak now… and i’ll stay with it 🙂

  3. #3 by Aaron on September 3, 2007 - 6:48 pm

    I highly recommend taking a look at Alpine, the the successor to Pine. Pine is a highly customizable app that I went back to about a year ago after an 8 year break. If you have a high mail load I wouldn’t recommend anything else.

  4. #4 by Rob J. Caskey on September 3, 2007 - 7:51 pm

    Eric,

    I’m not too keen with getting at my gmail through mutt, but I think #3 is a great idea!

  5. #5 by laserjock on September 4, 2007 - 2:52 am

    Well, I’ve moved from mutt to gmail, but 2) and 3) are on my list for sure. Mutt is great, but it was kinda too good for me. It allowed me to accumulate way more email than I could ever read.

    You know, we should really have an Ubuntu Bible study meeting. I know it sounds kinda corny, but I’ve met a lot of brothers and sisters through Ubuntu. It would be kinda fun to get together sometime.

  6. #6 by Andy on September 4, 2007 - 9:09 am

    Hmmm, I started on dvorak some time last year, and kind of forgot about it. Just to make sure I can still use it, I’m typing this message with it. It does seem to lead to funnier typos I find – since they are more likely to be real words 🙂

Leave a Reply

