Why I LOVE Ubuntu (just one of the many reasons)

I have been thinking about trying to become a MOTU for a long time. I have tried on a few different occasions to package an app called Scribes. I tried using the ./configure; make; checkinstall; method but it did not work. I was having some problems getting it to create a .deb file correctly.

Tonight I decided to try asking in the #ubuntu-motu channel. There were two individuals in there that were able to help me (ajmitch and crimsun). The willingness to help and not use the standard RTFM speaks volumes for the Ubuntu community as a whole in my opinion. I love the fact that they were able and willing to help someone who was (still is) completely new to the packaging of Ubuntu apps and get them pointed in the right direction.

My new goal is to learn more about packaging and one day become an official MOTU member.

Thanks again to all who make this such a great community to contribute my time to.

  1. #1 by Joseph Smidt on June 1, 2007 - 12:16 am

    I can second that. I have worked with a couple of unnamed projects and none of them people as helpful as Ubuntu. It gets old always being treated like you are an idiot. The MOTU are very patient, enthusiastic and helpful.

    Thanks a lot guys!

  2. #2 by skunkyjay on June 1, 2007 - 12:32 am

    Oh yeah, there is no doubt about it. Motu’s are cool. I have got a knew challenge though, because my mentor for GSoC is also a Motu, looks like he wants me to learn how to package my program after making it. Hence it is harder to get my money at the end of the semester. Well, all good, guess I WILL HAVE learn. 😀
    And thanks for scribes, it is one funky little editor.
    Jason

  3. #3 by Weeber on June 1, 2007 - 12:49 am

    I’m thinking becoming a MOTU too, just for fun and to learn a couple of things of the ubuntu packaging.

    With no doubt the MOTU are a essential part of the ubuntu success.

  4. #4 by Mario on June 1, 2007 - 4:15 am

    Hey,

    did you manage to package scribes, and get it uploaded? If not, please gimme a note over email and I’ll help you. I need to package & upload it anyway, so ^_^

    KR,
    M.

  5. #5 by JW on June 1, 2007 - 7:13 am

    I think the Ubuntu community is the best Linux community out there. The willingness to help others is fantastic. I’ve been largely a consumer of that helpfulness and have never gotten RTFM as an answer — and I appreciate that.

  6. #6 by jimcooncat on June 1, 2007 - 4:37 pm

    Have you come across any really good documentation for packaging? What I’ve seen is *very* confusing. I’d like to make my own little repository for custom-tweaked apps for friends and coworkers.

  7. #7 by vorian on June 1, 2007 - 8:21 pm

    Very cool!

    I guess I should chime in on -motu too 🙂

    You are a true leader Eric 🙂

  8. #8 by nasrullah chinnarassen on July 25, 2007 - 12:59 pm

    i am like you Ubuntu the best.

Leave a Reply

