Microsoft MSI cleanup utility

I ran into a problem earlier and I wanted to let you know what the solution was in case you see it too. I was trying to uninstall an application onto a machine here and Windows complained about not being able to find the msi file that was used for the install. First I tried the regclean.exe ( look on MajorGeeks.com ) tool from Microsoft and rebooted but that did not help at all. Then I came across miscuu2.exe. This little app once installed lists then stuff that is listed in Add/Remove Programs but it actually works. You fire it up and select the program that is giving you a headache and click Remove. Then install an the new version or just move on with life. I think that if you were to search the registry for the msi in question and removed it then it would have done the same thing but I didn’t think of that until I had already fixed the problem.

  1. #1 by JarG0n on February 14, 2007 - 10:53 am

    This is great!!!!!!!!!!

  2. #2 by Mads on June 16, 2008 - 7:59 pm

    Hei.
    Thank you for this valuable information. This tool has also helped me a lot.
    More information about this tool is available at Microsoft’s Article ID : 290301 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/290301/en-us).
    Regars Mads

  3. #3 by Wilhelm Nilsson on September 27, 2008 - 5:32 pm

    MICROSOFT Thank you for this program “Microsoft cleanup utility”. Now my computer stats up and there is no question from a program that whant to be installed.

  4. #4 by J Scott Bell on October 24, 2009 - 10:40 pm

    Okay so I am running into this with two or three programs on the tail end of an OS reinstall for XP SP3. Everything Win XP and Office 2007 was installed and updated before any additional programs were installed.

    I was getting the message “Another installation in process. You must complete the first installation before continuing.”

    Corel PSP X2 reinstall was the first nay sayer and then next came McAfee VT (Virtual Technician). The McAfee security suite reinstalled fine but started randomly warning I was not fully protected as some services were being internally disabled.

    McAfee and Corel both recommended running miscuu2.exe of course.

    Guess what message I got trying to install miscuu2.exe ? “Another installation….” I love irony as much or more than the next guy but its not funny when you are exasperated and just want your stinking programs to work. Grrr

    Any word about a miscuu3.exe on the horizon?

  1. Weird « Random thoughts

Leave a Reply

