Python vs Ruby

Let me start by saying that I would never call myself a great or even a good programmer. I started programming with Perl about 3 years ago and the largest thing that I was involved in writing was about 1500 lines of code that had a gui (Tk) and wrote log files and interacted with PostgreSQL database. Then after writing that we got the idea to redo the whole thing in PHP to add more functionality.

OK, now that I have that out of the way, my problem is that I am trying to pick between Python and Ruby to be my new and primary language. I have books on each and have read them all. I have had very little experience with OOP so I struggle with that aspect some. Both of these languages have large user bases. Python is used quite a lot by Google, Gentoo and I read today that Ubuntu uses it as well. Ruby has a smaller following here in the U.S. but it is growing thanks to the Rails framework. Python also has a very nice framework called Django that I am very interested in. If anyone reads this and has some input as to which one to use (with good reasons) please tell me.

I am leaning toward Python right now and I am not totally turning my back on Perl. I will continue to use Perl as well because of CPAN. Once Python has a CPAN of its own that is as complete as Perls I may give up Perl for good.

  1. #1 by pythontyro on October 12, 2006 - 1:31 am

    You are already a good software engineer. Flexible in learning new tools (python/ruby) and willing to give up the old (perl) one. For the question of python vs ruby I would be inclined to say that python (for now in 2006) should be your primary language.

    1. Python has been around for a while and mature than Ruby. Bigger community.
    2. Python has good road map for the future until Python 3000. I’ve not seen one yet for Ruby.
    3. There are numerous excellent frameworks available to develop variety of apps (desktop/web). Proven solutions like Zope/Plone/Bittorrent. I don’t see such in Ruby other RAILS. Even if there are frameworks, I’ve not yet seen proven solutions claiming to have used them.

    WDYT?

  2. #2 by anonim on July 2, 2008 - 3:59 am

    Python comes with “batteries included” i.e. no need for CPAN.

  3. #3 by roger ruby gems rdocs on September 23, 2009 - 9:10 pm

    ruby doesn’t have as many libraries–but it sure is fun to write ’em 🙂

Leave a Reply

